KiCAD to OpenEMS (PCB export)

How to use openEMS. Discussion on examples, tutorials etc

Moderator: thorsten

Janis

KiCAD to OpenEMS (PCB export)

Post by Janis » Thu 07 Dec 2017, 03:29

Hello

I've created utility software that converts KiCAD PCB files to octave/matlab function files, that can be used with openEMS. You can take advantage of drawing capabilities in KiCAD to draw geometry faster and more complex. It also automatically creates mesh lines.

Check out 'pcbmodelgen' at https://github.com/jcyrax/pcbmodelgen

This is very new project so some bugs may be found. Feel free to submit them or features you would want on github.

Janis

thorsten

Re: KiCAD to OpenEMS (PCB export)

Post by thorsten » Thu 07 Dec 2017, 08:49

Hello Janis,

thank you very much for this nice utility. I will soon give it a try. Unfortunatly I have no KiCAD experience. Maybe I should change that too ;)

best regards
Thorsten

Slowrunner

Post by Slowrunner » Mon 17 Dec 2018, 22:11

Hi Thorsten

I see that both you and Wayne Stambaugh from KiCad are scheduled to speak at the same day in the same room at Fosdem 2019.
Maybe the two of you can have a chat to figure out what it would take for the two best open source software packages in their respective fields to be able to talk together. I believe both Kicad users and OpenEMS users will find this very interesting.
pcbmodelgen is a great start, but currently only works under Linux. That is a limitation for many users, Linux has not conquered the world quite yet.
The ideal scenario would be an export function in KiCad that would export to a file format that OpenEMS could read directly. I have no idea exactly what that file format should be to minimize the amount of work required for the development teams on each side. But hopefully you and Wayne can figure that out.

Bård

PaulUK

Post by PaulUK » Thu 20 Dec 2018, 13:01