Helix monopole Antenna

How to use openEMS. Discussion on examples, tutorials etc

Moderator: thorsten

MPCEngineer

Helix monopole Antenna

Post by MPCEngineer » Thu 02 Sep 2021, 18:41

Hi,

I'm a newbie and I am trying to simulate a 7 turn helix mono pole above a ground plate.

Using the examples script Helical_Antenna.m as the base I have changed the number of turns and coil size.

The frequency of operation is 868MHz.

I change the frequency range in script but I must be doing something very wrong because the impedance is always zero.

Any help anyone?

Thanks,

MPC
Z.jpg
Z.jpg (21.68 KiB) Viewed 1934 times
Attachments
helix.m
(6.11 KiB) Downloaded 90 times

thorsten

Re: Helix monopole Antenna

Post by thorsten » Thu 02 Sep 2021, 20:14

Hi,

your mesh is completely not okay for the antenna.
The simulation domain is way to large (unnecessary), and your helix only covers exactly two lines per width, thus making it more a brick than a coil.
I did not check in height direction but I think it was similar. Have a closer look at the mesh in relation to the helix from the tutorial and try to scale everything fitting your dimensions and frequency range.

Maybe you try again by first scaling everything from the tutorial helix to your frequency range (keeping turns and such) and then increase turns and so on...

regards
Thorsten

MPCEngineer

Post by MPCEngineer » Fri 03 Sep 2021, 13:31

Thanks Thorsen,

I have studied and improved the mesh but still the real impedance is zero.

Any further thoughts?

Many thanks,

MPC
Mesh2.jpg
Top view of mesh around helix
Mesh2.jpg (41.28 KiB) Viewed 1919 times
Mesh.jpg
3d view of helix mesh
Mesh.jpg (89.96 KiB) Viewed 1919 times
Z.jpg
Impedance
Z.jpg (25.46 KiB) Viewed 1919 times

MPCEngineer

Post by MPCEngineer » Fri 03 Sep 2021, 15:04

Forgot to include the script file.

Thanks,

MPC
Attachments
helix.m
(6.16 KiB) Downloaded 86 times

MPCEngineer

Post by MPCEngineer » Fri 03 Sep 2021, 18:41

Hi All,