vtk file question

How to use openEMS. Discussion on examples, tutorials etc

Moderator: thorsten

agmj117

vtk file question

Post by agmj117 » Tue 27 Mar 2012, 10:10

Hi,

I am a beginner of the Electromagnetic simulation and I'm just began to learn FDTD.So there are some silly questions to ask you. :D
I saw the vtk file(Tutorials / horn antenna) use the Parawell,But I don't understand why It can get the shape like this:
Why not extensions to Infinity? Is this because the absorbing boundary conditions?
Best regards
Liu

Youry

Re: vtk file question

Post by Youry » Tue 27 Mar 2012, 10:41

Hello,

I am also new in openEMS and paraview, so my help is probably useless and maybe wrong...

Here what we see is the far field emission pattern of an horn antenna... So I don't understand why you speak/think about an infinite extension... ?
The figure simply show for example, that in the axis of antenna the fields is maximal, no infinite value can be obtain on antenna diagram. We see secondary maximum for particular theta/phi value and so one...

If I understand, the near field is compute thanks fdtd calculation, (from the guide to the 'output') then a function is call to find the far field (propagating field term) from the near fields (I am not sure that FDTD is needed at this step, I don't think so).
It probably allow use to have a small box calculation surrounding the antenna, and then the near2farfield give the useful result... It is good to save many cell (because we don't need very large calculation area in order to remove the non-propagating term of the field)...

I Hope I help little bit, moreover I think it is already to much difficult to deal with this example if you start.
I decide to download openEMS thank to this image, because I want to simulate an Horn-antenna also, but calculation failed at the end because of my limited memory (I think)...

agmj117

Post by agmj117 » Tue 27 Mar 2012, 11:24

Youry wrote:Hello,
……